Tag Archives: Awards

ALEC Students Receive Awards of Merit from Gamma Sigma Delta

By: Mollie Lastovica Gamma Sigma Delta, the Honor Society of Agriculture, is an international professional group dedicated to recognizing and accomplishing success in improving agricultural pursuits. The Texas A&M Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta annually recognizes students in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and College of Veterinary Medicine for their scholastic contributions to agriculture. Six students in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications received undergraduate and graduate awards at the Gamma Sigma Delta Annual Awards Reception April 17. Jana Kubecka, agricultural leadership and development… Read More →

Boggus Recognized as Recipient of Distinguished Achievement Award

By: Mollie Lastovica Charlene Boggus, Lead Office Associate for the Department of Agricultural Leadership Education and Communications, was formally recognized as a recipient of the Association of Former Students University-Level Distinguished Achievement Award for Staff on April 29. Boggus is one of only two staff members across the Texas A&M System recognized for 2013. “This award humbles me,” Boggus said. Boggus has worked in her current position for ALEC for six years, but has been working in different facets for the department since 1987. She has impacted the… Read More →

Students Recognized at Prestigious All-University Awards Ceremony

Each year, the top Texas A&M University students are recognized for their outstanding scholastic, extra-curricular and service activities at the Parents’ Weekend Committee’s All-University Awards Ceremony. The 2013 All-University Awards Ceremony was held April 14 in Rudder Auditorium and recognized recipients of the Buck Weirus Spirit Award, Gathright Scholar Award, Margaret Rudder Service Award and Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Among the elite students recognized at the event were nine undergraduate and graduate students in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications. The… Read More →

Students Recognized at Annual Awards Banquet

By: Mollie Lastovica Outstanding students in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications were recognized at the ALEC Awards Reception April 12. Awards and scholarships were presented to recognize student achievement both extra-curricular and academic success. Each major in the department recognized outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior, senior and non-traditional students.   Agricultural Communications and Journalism Outstanding Freshman: Claire Whitfield Outstanding Sophomore: Amantha Hons Outstanding Juniors: Alexis Benningfield, Allyson Heil Outstanding Seniors: Josh Hardcastle, Mollie Lastovica Outstanding Non-Traditional Students: Barbara Hosler, Mark Spillers   Agricultural Science Outstanding Freshman:… Read More →

Lastovica wins NAAJ Writing Contest

Click here to learn about another outstanding AGCJ student writer’s award.

AGCJ Student Named 2013 American Horse Publications Travel Award Winner

By: Mollie Lastovica Senior agricultural communications and journalism student Misty Vidrine has been selected as one of three recipients of the 2013 American Horse Publications Travel Award Winners. Vidrine will receive a $750 travel stipend to attend the 2013 American Horse Publications Meet at the Peak Seminar in Colorado Springs, Colo. June 20-22. For Vidrine, the decision to apply for this award is one that has led to the opportunity of a lifetime.  She heard about the contest only days before the application was due and decided it… Read More →

Mazurkiewicz named Regent Fellow

Leadership Program Director Jim Mazurkiewicz, Ph.D. was recognized as a Regents Fellow for 2011-12. This distinction comes from the Texas A&M System Board of Regents who recognized only 18 professors and fellows throughout the entire Texas A&M System this year. Click here to learn more.

Vestal wins Southern Region Award for Excellence in Extension

Andy Vestal, Ph.D., was recognized during the 125th annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities in Denver, Colo. as the recipient of the Southern Region Award for Excellence in Extension. Click here to read about his contributions to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension and the department.