Aggie promotes food security, well-being through agricultural education

For the past two months, Jessica Spence ’18 has lived a daily experience few Aggies can claim. She has been roused every morning to the crow of roosters and the sounds of palm brooms sweeping outside her little blue house in Koforidua, Ghana. Spence is a two-time graduate from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications. She now serves as the program coordinator in Ghana for the International Agricultural Education Fellows Program, IAEFP. IAEFP is a partnership between AgriCorps and the Texas A&M Borlaug Institute for International… Read More →

Bush Library documentary depicts heroic efforts of Auschwitz volunteer Witold Pilecki

A special viewing of a documentary on the heroic life of Witold Pilecki, an Auschwitz volunteer, will be brought to the Texas A&M University campus “to continue educating our youth about history.” Jim Mazurkiewicz, Ph.D., director of the Gov. Dolph Briscoe Jr. Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership, TALL, program with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, traces his Polish heritage to the early 1800s of the Republic of Texas. Through the years, he’s facilitated several academic exchange activities among TALL program students, Texas and Poland business groups with interests in both agricultural… Read More →

Developing future Texas agriculture leaders

he most recent Gov. Dolph Briscoe Jr. Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership graduates are set to tackle some of the most challenging agricultural issues affecting Texas and the nation after completing a two-year program aimed at preparing them for local, state and national service. “Our graduating class represents nearly every segment of the agriculture industry,” said Jim Mazurkiewicz, Ph.D., director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. “It prepares them as future leaders to provide expertise and help guide our state and nation to preserve… Read More →

Celebrating the legacy of Joe Townsend

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences family grieve the passing of Joe Townsend, Ph.D., but share in the joy of remembering the lasting impact he left in Aggieland. Townsend had a passion for developing students into advocates and one of the guiding leaders who helped develop an agricultural leadership degree in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University. For more than 30 years, Townsend, known as “Dr. Joe” to many students, served as associate vice president for student development and as associate dean for student development… Read More →

Texas Innovators features Dr. Leggette’s science communications research

Holli Leggette, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications and director of the Science Communications Lab, devotes her time to researching new ways for science communicators to better convey information to their audiences. In a time where information is continuously pushed out on social media platforms, information literacy is increasingly important. Instead of stating statistics and scientific information, science communicators should be striving to share information that can not only be understood, but engaged with. Leggette’s research aims to help science communicators educate… Read More →

Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications students receive Senior Merit Award

The Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences congratulates the outstanding students receiving 2021 Senior Merit Awards. Presented by the College for over 50 years, these awards recognize the best of the best graduating seniors. Kate West Kate West is a senior Agricultural Communications and Journalism major with an Agricultural Economics minor. Growing up on a cow-calf operation, she was constantly surrounded by farm life and livestock. During high school, FFA sparked her passion for agriculture advocacy and education. The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences… Read More →

Murphrey recipient of AFS College Level Teaching Award

Each fall, The Association of Former Students honors outstanding faculty members for their dedication to teaching. Since the program’s inception in 1982, these achievement awards recognize, encourage, and reward the superior classroom teachers— those individuals whose command of their respective discipline, teaching methodologies, pervasive caring, communication skills, and commitment to the learning process exemplify the meaning of teacher/mentor in its highest sense. This award is designed to distinguish those teachers who maintain high expectations of their students and who ensure academic rigor in their courses. Distinguished teachers recognize… Read More →

Graduate Students Awarded at Student Research Week

Four graduate students, along with Robert Strong, Ph.D., Associate Department Head for Graduate Programs, in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications, placed in the graduate oral presentations of the 2021 Texas A&M University Student Research Week. Carmen Benson and Strong placed first in the public service graduate session. Benson gave an oral presentation over their research titled “Towards More Inclusive Higher Education Globally: Priorities for Gender Equality.” Chin-Ling Lee and Strong placed first in the agriculture graduate session. Lee presented their research titled “Precision Agriculture Adoption… Read More →