Author Archives: cfulton

Murphrey recipient of AFS College Level Teaching Award

Each fall, The Association of Former Students honors outstanding faculty members for their dedication to teaching. Since the program’s inception in 1982, these achievement awards recognize, encourage, and reward the superior classroom teachers— those individuals whose command of their respective discipline, teaching methodologies, pervasive caring, communication skills, and commitment to the learning process exemplify the meaning of teacher/mentor in its highest sense. This award is designed to distinguish those teachers who maintain high expectations of their students and who ensure academic rigor in their courses. Distinguished teachers recognize… Read More →

Graduate Students Awarded at Student Research Week

Four graduate students, along with Robert Strong, Ph.D., Associate Department Head for Graduate Programs, in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications, placed in the graduate oral presentations of the 2021 Texas A&M University Student Research Week. Carmen Benson and Strong placed first in the public service graduate session. Benson gave an oral presentation over their research titled “Towards More Inclusive Higher Education Globally: Priorities for Gender Equality.” Chin-Ling Lee and Strong placed first in the agriculture graduate session. Lee presented their research titled “Precision Agriculture Adoption… Read More →

Student Worker Appreciation

It is National Student Employment week! Kate, Ty, Juan, and Kaylee — We appreciate all that you do for the department.  We “donut” know what we would do without you! Enjoy your week!

Congratulations Excellence Fellowship Recipients

Congratulations to Bethany Busa, McKenna Bush, and Tatum Hardy for earning the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Excellence Fellowship in Fall 2020! The purpose of the Fellowship is to recruit and matriculate top quality M.S. and Ph.D. graduate students, especially students that add diversity to the graduate program. This competitive award considers grades, academics, high impact experiential learning, demonstrated leadership, contribution to college diversity, and strengths of letters of recommendations. We congratulate these students for their achievements and appreciate their contributions toward enhancing our department!

Future Institute Research Center Awards Jean Parrella $1,000 Scholarship

By: Riley Grden Jean Parrella, a Texas A&M University doctoral student working with Holli Leggette, Ph.D. in her science communications lab, received a scholarship from the Future Institute Research Center, becoming a FIRC Associate Research Fellow. “A lot of research we do in the science communications lab aims to identify and develop innovative and effective ways to improve the science communications skills of students and other professionals across agricultural disciplines,” Parrella said. It is important to understand that in agricultural careers, students with degrees in agriculture need to have… Read More →

Highlighting Graduate Student Research

The Department wishes to highlight recent graduates and current graduate student research. Congratulations to all for your accomplishments! Association for International Agricultural and Extension Education Benson, C. N., & Strong Jr., R. (2021, April 12-15). Tackling gender inequality in university education: A content analysis of US and partner government priorities in developing Countries. [Oral presentation]. Association of International Agricultural and Extension Education, virtual conference. Brogan, G., & Strong Jr., R. (2021, April 12-15). Attributes empowering women in the Sub­ Saharan agricultural industry: Utilizing a quantitative content analysis to… Read More →

COVID-19 Resources

The Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications will keep you informed with the most current information with regards to COVID-19. As the situation with Covid-19 continues, the department will link to information provided by the Texas A&M University and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. TAMU COVID-19 Information COVID-19 Resources for COALS Students COVID-19 Resources for COALS Faculty and Staff

ALEC Fall 2020 Doctoral Graduates

The Department wishes to congratulate the Fall 2020 Doctoral Graduates! Dr. Amber Anderson – D@D – Chair, Dr. Robert Strong; Co-Chair, Dr. Michael Brashears Dr. Nicole Dietzel – Chair, Dr. Manuel Pina Dr. Dottie Goebel – Chair, Dr. Scott Cummings Dr. Monte Nesbitt – Chair, Dr. Philip Shackelford