Monthly Archives: July 2020

Dr. Julie Harlin to Serve on Diversity Commission

  The office of the Texas A&M University President, Michael K. Young, announced today the membership and charge of the newly created Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.  ALEC’s own Dr. Julie Harlin will be one of those members representing the Faculty Senate.  Her role, along with the others asked to join the commission, will be vital in following the commission’s charges and reporting their findings back to the Texas A&M Board of Regents.  We are proud of Dr. Harlin’s selection and involvement which will help to guide… Read More →

TAMU Ag PhD Grad Wins National Dissertation Award

News Release Dr. Hannah Russell, a 2019 Ph.D. graduate from the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications at Texas A&M University,  has been selected to receive the KPMG Outstanding Dissertation Award for her contribution to gender-related research. The award recognizes her exceptional scholarly research in her dissertation, titled ‘The Effects of Gender Inequity on Global Food Insecurity.’ KPMG is a global network of professional firms providing audit, tax, and advisory services. Shown in photo are Dr. Hannah Russell and her Dissertation Committee Chair, Dr. Manuel Piña, Jr…. Read More →

ACTER Executive Director

The Association for Career and Technical Education Research (ACTER)  selects ALEC Ph.D. student, Nicole Dietzel, as their first Executive Director. Nicole assisted then President-Elect Jack Elliot with the 2019 ACTER Conference. Nicole will manage the administrative logistics of the Association for Career and Technical Education Research (ACTER) and to provide staff support that enables the ACTER Executive Committee to perform the leadership functions of ACTER. Nicole will coordinate the planning, organization, and operation of the CTE Research and Professional Development Conference (annual conference) in cooperation with ACTER President-Elect… Read More →


Join us in congratulating our newest Professor, Dr. Theresa Murphrey, and Associate Professor with tenure, Dr. Hollie Leggette-Archer in their promotions! What a great milestone for each and our department is proud to have them!