2012 AIAEE Annual Conference- Thailand

The 2012 Association for International Agricultural and Extension Education  (AIAEE) Annual Conference held in Nakorn Pathom Province, Thailand during May was a great success and the Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences was well-represented by seven faculty and five graduate students from ALEC.

The title of this year’s conference “East Meets West for Sustainable Development” Focus on Global Warming and Agriculture: The Role of International Agricultural Extension and Education is a theme of interest to the globe but particularly Thailand because of its recent floods, which are attributed to global warming.

Dr. Jimmy Lindner presided over the conference and meetings as President of AIAEE.  The conference was attended by 84 AIAEE members, graduate students, and guests in addition to many local attendees.  The success of the conference can be attributed to the dedication and efforts of the many members that contributed to making it a stellar educational experience.

ALEC faculty and students are actively involved in the association and hold positions in the AIAEE:

Dr. Jimmy Lindner assumed the role of Past-President.
Dr. Theresa Murphrey assumed the role of President.
M’Randa Sandlin assumed the role of Graduate Student Representative.
Dr. Robert Strong assumed the role of Co-Chair of the Scholarship Committee in charge of abstracts.
Dr. Tracy Rutherford assumed the role of Co-Chair of the Scholarship Committee in charge of posters.
Dr. Gary Briers assumed the role of Chair of the Constitution/Bylaws Committee.
Dr. Kim Dooley is a member of the Awards Ad Hoc Committee
Dr. Glen Shinn is Chair of the Audit Committee

Congratulations are in order for our ALEC faculty who received the following awards:

Dr. Jack Elliot and Dr. Gary Wingenbach were inducted as AIAEE Senior Fellows.
Dr. Glen Shinn received the “2nd Runner–up Professional Abstract Award) for research conducted in Afghanistan (Co-authors included Richard Ford & Rahmat Attaie).
Dr. Theresa Murphrey received the 2012 AIAEE Outstanding Early Achievement Membership Award.
Dr. Kim Dooley was inducted as an AIAEE Fellow.
Timothy Silberg received the “Overall Student Abstract Award” and “1st Runner-up Student Abstract Award” for research conducted in Guatemala (Co-authors included Theresa Murphrey, Gary Wingenbach, & Leonardo Lombardini).

Comments are closed.